Welcome to Gimhae Dear respected citizens of Gimhae City and netizens of the world We welcome you to the homepage of Gimhae City

You are here

Home > Introduction > About Gimhae

About Gimhae

city hall location direction longitude and latitude extremity distance
place name extremity
2401 Gimhae-daero(Buwon-dong),
east wolchon-ri, daedong-myeon  east longitude 129° 0' 48" north latitude 35° 16' 16" east to west; 27km north to south: 32km
west jwagon-ri, jinyeong-eup  east longitude128° 41' 47" north latitude 35° 18' 12"
south jangyu-dong east longitude128° 49' 44" north latitude 35° 9' 10"
north doyo-ri, saengnim-myeon east longitude128° 51' 59" north latitude 35° 23' 31"


Gimhae is located at the southeastern tip of Korean peninsula. It borders Gangseo-gu, and Changwon on the southwest, and the Nakdonggang River divides Gimhae and Milyang on the north.


Gimhae is located in the temperate zone. It has four seasons which changes distinctly. Due to the influence of coastal climate, Gimhae is the mildest region in Korea and the climate is suitable for human activities. The annual average temperature is about 15℃, and annual average precipitation is 1,200mm, which is similar to that of Korea of 1,274mm and a little higher than that of world's average of 973mm.


The total area is 463.26㎢, which is about 0.5% of Korea(99,393.81㎢) and 4.4% of province(10,518.3㎢). It is the 13th largest of 20 cities and counties in the province.


The theory of six Gayas originated in the early Goryeo Period. In actuality, there were more than 10 small Gaya Kingdoms. In general, when the history of Gaya is mentioned, people think of the names of six Gayas. Then, why was each kingdom called so and so Gaya? The first record of six Gayas can be found in the record of "5 Gaya Dynasties" in Samgukyusa(the legend and history of Three Kingdoms written by Ilyeon in the Goryeo Period) written in the late Goryeo Period. In the record, 7 Gaya Kingdoms including Ara Gaya, Goryeong Gaya, Dae Gaya, Seongsan Gaya, So Gaya, Geumgwan Gaya, and Bihwa Gaya were mentioned. These names were added to the legend of 6 eggs attached to the King Suro of Garak Kingdom. The concept of six Gayas was formed between the late Silla Period and early Goryeo Period. Therefore, the names of Gaya Kingdoms were not actually used at the time of their existence. But they were named later to indicate the Gaya confederation including Geumgwan Kingdom, Ara Kingdom, Godongnam Kingdom, Seongsan Kingdom and Bihwa Kingdom. It is not clear whether the 7 Gaya Kingdoms recorded in Samgukyusa were actually members of Gaya confederation. In addition, excavations of Gaya earthenware indicate that there were more than 10 Gaya Kingdoms. Therefore, it is time to overcome the theory of six Gayas Kingdoms and restructure the history of Gaya based on "Wiseo, Dongijeon" of Samgukji(History of Wi, Chok, and Oh of China compiled by Jin Su. In the Dongijeon, histories of Korea and other nations in the east were recorded), Samguksaki(History of Three Kingdoms written by Kim Busik in the Goryeo Period), and Nihonshoki(History of Japan compiled in the Nara Period).